Find BooksFind by SubjectFind DVD, filmsFind ImagesFind News ResourcesFind Reserves
Find Full Text
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

Research Skills  Tags: research catalog articles references databases www evaluating connectivity books skills assignments  

Here you will find information on using the library catalog, searching databases, journals, searching the Net and more.
Last update: Nov 02nd, 2009 URL: http://libguides.drury.edu/researchskills  Print Guide  RSS Updates

From Home             Print Page
  
 

From Home

If you are a registered Drury student and do not live near the Drury library, have a disability or find it hard to visit the Drury Library, even if you have classes on campus, there are some services to make finding and obtaining information easier for you.

Can I search library catalogues from home?
Can I search the electronic databases from home?
I can't logon to the databases!
Can I have books and journal articles sent to me?
Who can I phone, email or fax for help?

 


Can I search library catalog from home?

Yes, if you have Internet access and a web browser, you can reach the Drury Library home page. Click on Library Catalog. You can then search the Curtin Library catalog. You can also do a search on the Library home page; you can search Drury, Swan, or Mobius.

You can check if books are on loan or available, recall or request books, check the details of journal holdings and check your My Library Account Information.

Drury Library Catalog
http://swan.missouri.edu/search~S2


Can I search the electronic databases from home?

Yes, again, if you have an Internet connection with a Web browser, all you need to do is to go to the Drury Library home page and click on All Databases or click on one of the favorite databases listed.

You must be a currently enrolled Drury student, Drury faculty, or staff member to access the databases. You will need your Drury email logon and password.

Especially useful are the databases that give the full text of journal articles online. You can search our Subject Guides for databases that would be a good choice for a particular field of study. You can teach yourself how to search them with tutorials listed under our Tutorials link.

top

 



I Can't Log On to the Databases!

If you are off campus and trying to access one of the commercial database that is licensed by the Drury Library or MOREnet for use by Drury students, faculty, and staff, you must first log into the Drury Library's proxy server with your DRURY EMAIL Name and Password. This will validate your status as a current Drury student, faculty member, or staff member.

If you have a Drury email account and have problems logging into the proxy server or need to set up a Drury email account, please contact Computer Services (873-7300).

EXAMPLE DRURY EMAIL ACCOUNT:

Example: jdoe (first initial, last name) / XXXX (your password)

If you continue to have problems please check with the Computer services department to verify your Drury username and password and to MAKE SURE YOUR ACCOUNT IS ACTIVE.

If you are positive your email account is working and you have remembered your username and password correctly you can contact the library at 873-7348 ONLY ON WEEK DAYS.

WEBCT Users: the username and password for the databases IS NOT the same as your WEBCT login.

What info to have ready

When contacting either the library or computer services have ready your password and login. It will also be helpful to know what operating system you are using (Windows, Mac) and what browser you are using (IE5,6, or 7, Firefox, Opera, Safari etc.). Also, whether you are coming in through Drury dialup.

top


Can I have books and journal articles sent to me?

If you are a Drury student and do not live near any Drury Library or have a disability, you can contact our Interlibrary Loan department and have books and journal articles sent to you. They will also borrow items from other libraries for you. If you can't find what you are looking for at Drury make sure to check all libraries on Swan and then the state wide Mobius level before you order from Interlibrary Loan (ILL).

Handy Hints:

  • In the Drury library catalog, you can Recall items that are on loan and Request books from other academic libraries in Swan and Mobius.
  • It's always a good idea to see what your local public library's services and collections offer you, especially its Reference Collection and Internet services. Springfield Public Library is also a member of Mobius.


top


Who can I phone, email or fax for help?

For help with searching library catalogues and databases and general reference questions contact:

Reference Desk
Phone: (417) 873-7337
Email: refdesk@drury.edu
or contact us via Ask A Librarian

top

 

F. W. Olin Library

Profile ImageLibrary Staff
Contact Info:
Olin Library, Drury University
417-873-7282
Send Email

Subjects:
Tech / Web

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait